Sukhpreet

Learning Mathematics

Algebra Equations

on January 9, 2012

Students can find X to even both sides and also find similar pictures to get more practice on Solving  Equations.

X+3 = 8

5+3 = 8

8 = 8

The following is another picture, which shows that students can use real people and objects while solving equations. Students are to find real life pictures and then turn them into math equation.

 

The idea is taken from Iconic Identities, which is to remove icons and still get recognizable picture. I will use this assignment while teaching Algebra class to solve equations. Students will be supposed to find similar pictures or equations to practice on solving equations.


3 responses to “Algebra Equations

  1. Prof. Michael Smith says:

    I think the choice of Iconic Identities is an interesting one as it talks about using minimalist design ideas to reduce a piece of communication to fundamental symbols and language. What occurred to me is that the syntax of mathematics is exactly that. So maybe your digital assignment should ask students to do the opposite of the ‘iconic identities’ assignment – use images of items, people, places, etc. to make explicit the mathematics. And students should try and see if there could be a rationale (story) behind the choice of images. Think of it as asking students to create a visualization of a word problem based on a formula.

  2. Ms. Redwood says:

    I love how you used the scale. I’m a LIBRA, so I love SCALES…lol. I like how you simplified the equation. I also love the idea of using real images, instead of numbers. I will definitely keep this idea in mind.

  3. Nasrin says:

    you have a great understanding of how to make learning math more enjoyable. Keep up with the ideas!

Leave a comment